drugstore · Influenster · reviews

Maybelline Better Skin Powder Review 

Hey all! I think you all know by now I don’t go out and buy new products super frequently. Well, the past 10 days have been exciting, I received this Maybelline powder through Influenster and had a little adventure to Sephora!🙈 Today I’m here to review the Maybelline Better Skin Powder Foundation, keep on scrolling if you’re interested!

Outside of compact

Just a quick preface; I am not a powder foundation girl, I have just never found one that didn’t look gross on my skin. I am, however, oily and live in the desert valley of Arizona. So onto the good stuff!

Basics: This product is a powder foundation, available at most mass retailers ($8.94 at Wal-Mart), you get 0.32 oz or 9 grams of product, a sponge applicator and a very nice mirror in each compact. It is available in 8 shades, contains Salicylic Acid but does not contain an SPF. I wear shade 10 Porcelain.

Claims:

  • All day oil control and lasting coverage.
  • Improves skin’s look: reduces the appearance of imperfections, pores and unevenness.
  • Won’t look cakey.
  • Acheive better looking skin in 3 weeks.

    Ingredients: Talc, Lauroyl Lysine, Nylon-12, Isononyl Isononanoate, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Magnesium Stearate, Methicone, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Salicylic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Calcium Pantothenate, Zinc Gluconate, Manganese Gluconate, Magnesium Gluconate, Copper Pca, [+/- May Contain/Peut Contenir Ci 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499/Iron Oxides] F.I.L. D182610/1

    Packaging: I really love the packaging of this product. It is sleek and compact making it perfect for travel or slipping it in your hand bag for touch-ups. It’s also visually pleasing, with the white lid and crystal-clear bottom half. This does not look like a compact you’d find at the bottom of your grandmas’ makeup bag. On the practical side of things, this products’ packaging also exceeds. It has a surprisingly nice sponge, a  mirror that not only is of great quality but is also hinged so it stays put at any angle, as well as being able open past 180 degrees (completely flat). 10/10

    Stays open at all angles, perfect for travel!

    Performance: The first time I tried this powder (alone, as foundation, on completely bare skin) I was blown away by it’s coverage. They aren’t joking when they say it covers like a liquid, it provides nice medium coverage. I tried it again alone on a “no-makeup-makeup” day, it worked like a charm! It covered all of my discoloration, mattified, and felt like I had nothing on, when I applied it with my usual -clean- foundation brush. Then I took the included sponge, picked up some product on the corner and concealed. It worked perfectly, I was beyond surprised and impressed! The one downside I found with wearing it alone is that it tends to wear off more easily. It can be used to set regular foundation, it does a nice job mattifying but I noticed it did make my foundation look heavier and borderline cakey. 6/10

    In tandem with my most dewy/luminous foundation
    Left side of my face is with Maybelline Better Skin Powder foundation ALONE, no primer, concealer or other foundations/facial products. The right side is my bare face. *other than adding the text & frame this photo is completely unedited.

    Overall: I like this powder! I think I’m going to keep it in my purse to touch up shine on my forehead and for the occasional no-makeup-makeup day, when I need coverage but can’t be bothered by messy liquids. If you’re a minimal type of makeup-wearer and/or need something easy and convieniant for travel without sacrificing quality, this is your product. This powder, as with most, will most likely emphasize dryness. I would recommend this product for combo-oily skin types. Finally, if you’re acne-prone and your skin gets on well with Salicylic Acid, this would probably work even better for you! 8/10

    I hope you all enjoyed this review and will stay tuned for my thoughts on a hot new product from Too Faced! Coming soon 😉

    Follow me on social media!

    🐥 Twitter 

    📷 For BTS & daily looks! ➡ Instagram

    📡 Bloglovin’

    📌 Pinterest

    Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog with your email below and get a little reminder every time I post (exciting things are coming)! I hope you all have a great weekend. 😎

    xoxo,

    Shannon

    Leave a Reply

    