High end · reviews · swatches · too faced

Too Faced Chocolate Bonsbons Palette Review, Swatches & Comparisons 🍫

Hey there strangers! It has been a hot minute since I’ve made a blog post! Why you ask? Well, add together trying to plan a cross country move, a teething/sick toddler plus getting sick and that equals zero spare time. I have hardly posted on instagram these past few weeks never mind had time to actually write. Anyways, today I bring you a review with swatches and comparisons of the new Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons Palette!

First and foremost, I want to say, this palette released just a little while before Valentine’s Day. So while new, Too Faced has been pumping out new product like no tomorrow and this is not the newest addition to their lineup. Now onto my review!:)

image
Disclaimer: because of the angle, the photo above is more true to color than the photo below.

image

Packaging: As always, Too Faced killed it with the packaging! This palette comes housed in an adorable pink tin case with a 3-D heart pattern covering it. It has a magnetic closure, makes a satisfying little “click” when you close it and while staying securely closed so it is travel friendly, it isn’t a struggle to open at all. When this palette first released, a lot of people had the little heart shaped eye shadow pans falling out. Too Faced, to address this, recalled all of the product, corrected the issue and re-released it back into stores. I believe it is because the combination of the pans being a unique shape (in comparison to traditional square or circular pans) & Too Faced rushing to release this product before Valentine’s day. That irks me a little bit but it does me right that they corrected the issue and have such great customer service for anyone who did have a defective palette. 10/10

Amount of Product:
BonBons palette; 14 eye shadows (small ones) at 1.0 Grams and 2 eye shadows (the two larger) at 2.2 Grams.
OG Chocolate Bar; 14 eye shadows at .95 Grams and 2 eye shadows at 2.8 Grams.
This means that while the two larger eye shadows in the BonBons palette got cut down in size by .65 Grams (by comparison to the CBP), we gained .75 Grams total because the 14 smaller eye shadows grew by .05 Grams each. I know a lot of people were less than pleased to see less product but if you take a closer look you actually get more product in total. I also think it’s more logical this way as well, you’re far more likely to run out of the small pan shades before you completely use up one of the mac daddy pans (even if they’re slightly smaller).

Pigmentation & Texture: This, for me, is the most exciting part of this palette. The texture of these shadows is more stiff than those in the original Chocolate Bar Palette (CBP), yet somehow, they pack a bigger and bolder punch of pigmentation. I love the slightly stiffer texture because I found with the CBP, on my eye all of the colors would just blend into one blob of brown no matter how careful I was. Almost as though they were too blendable. The shades in the Bonbons palette, however, retain their integrity no matter how much layering and edge-blending I do; but still blend out beautifully. There isn’t a single shade in this palette that is a “dud” or that I can’t imagine myself reaching for regularly. 10/10

image
Indirect natural daylight. L-R TOP ROW: Almond Truffle, Satin Sheets, Sprinkles, Molasses Chip, Malted, Cashew Chew, Cotton Candy, Café Au Lait, Bordeaux, Mocha, Black Currant. BOTTOM ROW: Dark Truffle, Pecan Praline, Totally Fetch, Earl Grey, Divinity.
image
With Flash, to show the shimmery/metallic shades better (and more true to how BAM! they are in real life).

Every single shade in this palette has blown me away! Even shades that I was anticipating not liking much at all (such as Earl Grey & Black Currant), I have fallen in love with. Some absolute favorites of mine are: Almond Truffle (a really interesting soft mauve that makes for a perfect neutral transition), Molasses Chip (a gorgeous metallic true bronze, it is basically foiled it’s so intense), Cashew Chew (this shade is so subtle, a very light taupe with the most beautiful sheen. Perfect to add a little somethin’ to an all matte eye), Bordeaux (a true, well… Bordeaux color that doesn’t turn into a muddy brown on the eye!), Totally Fetch (a shimmery hot pink/magenta), Earl Grey (blue-toned grey with slight shimmer throughout. This color surprisingly works really well with every look!).

Comparisons

image
Swatches are in groups of two, one on the left (per pair) is from the BonBons palette and the ones on the right (in each pair) are from the Original Chocolate Bar palette.

image

There you have it folks! I hope you all found this helpful & can possibly use it as a reference when trying to decide if you want to purchase this palette. I hope you all have a wonderful Easter, and keep an eye out for my next post, a compilation of looks using this gorgeous palette! 🙂

Follow me on social media!
🐥 Twitter
📷 Instagram
📡 Bloglovin’
📌 Pinterest

xx,
Shannon

3 thoughts on “Too Faced Chocolate Bonsbons Palette Review, Swatches & Comparisons 🍫

  1. Hi lady so good to see this. I don’t have any of their palettes except a Holiday one yr before last. It has a lot of colors in it. It’s so big I forget to pull it out a lot. But don’t want to depot. My first real palette. Would u say this is the best one of the chic bars? I have always wanted one. But I can have the same problem with colors all mixing on my hooded lids. So when u said these stay true and don’t muddy. But don’t know when or if. I want the UD Gwen Blush Palette so bad before it goes away. Going to try to talk my boys into getting it for me for Mother’s Day early. Lol. Going to their apt tomorrow for lunch so we will see if I can. Usually when I mention makeup they don’t listen or care. But I still try got the Tartlette palette from them not the new one. So they r always good boys. I can only hope. Thanks so much for the review. I have seen others. But I trust u more. Thanks again. Have a Happy Easter. I am sorry u haven’t felt good and sick babies r so hard. U want to take it from them and let them feel better. Lots of love and hugs and good luck on move. That’s so hard to do. Which I could come help u.

    Like

Leave a Reply

