beauty · Favs & Flops · Makeup

Favs & Flops September 2015

Lovelies, I’m baaaacck! This past week my husband brought home a bug from his new job and it knocked me on my ass for a solid 6 days. I actually didn’t wear any makeup for almost a week *collective gasp*! Thankfully I’m just about fully recovered, I can’t say that much for hubby though, he picked up a heavy cough which is lingering. So now after my short but much needed hiatus, I am back!

Can I just say, the older I get the quicker years seems to fly by, those of you in your mid 20’s or 30’s can you tell me if the feeling continues to intensify? August was a very busy month, with Kenzie’s birthday and all the planning that comes along with that. Hubby and my 5 year anniversary was the 9th of last month, along with his new job schedule and what feels like a never ending list of doctors appointments. I have just the slight sensation that the world is playing a horrible joke on me and September was only a week long this year!

A little preface before we move into the good stuff; I have decided that at the end of each month from now on I will be making a post about my most-loved (and some not-so-loved) products from that month. Granted I’m not a gal who had tons of dough laying around to do hauls every week, so if one month is very boring (like everything’s a repeat that you all already know I love) I’ll just mention in bold itallics in a post close to the end of that month that I’ll be skipping the favs & flops that month.

🌟Favorites🌟

Maybelline Fit Me powder in 355 Coconut

image

I got this ages ago to use as a contour powder, which at the time I didn’t realize it’s much, much too warm for. So it sat around until one day I decided to play mixologist with my contouring powder (Wet N Wild Carmel Toffee duo). I dabbed my brush once in that once in the Maybelline powder and tapped off the excess, viola! It creates the perfect shade for my skin tone to contour but at the same time add some life to my face with. I’m very pleased and it blends beautifully, the icing on the cake!

Kat Von D Tattoo Eyeliner in Trooper

image

I got a mini of this from my dear friend Jamey, and I’m in love! It makes doing my favorite wing so simple, it’s super duper pigmented, and I love that its an actual brush tip, non of that felt-tip crap here! Also notable as this is a high end product, the deluxe sample size I have is only .007 fl. oz. and I’ve been using it quite vigorously for almost 7 weeks now so a full size should last you quite a good while! 🙂

Super Goop! Everyday Sunscreen SPF 50

image

I live in Arizona, A.K.A. the surface of the Sun. So, I wear sunscreen every. single. day. I am not trying to get my premature aging on, I’m trying to prevent that shizz! I have been loving this stuff. It smells amazing, kind of like typical sunscreen with an equal amount of mint scent. (It doesn’t tingle or sting at all, I don’t think there’s any mint or menthol in it, it just smells really refreshing and I thought it was worth mentioning!) It absorbs quick as heck, I can slap it on and go in with my makeup after just a minute, which is unusual for me. Big thumbs up!

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Lovecraft

image

I got this with 100 of my Sephora points and it is amazing! Its matte, but very creamy and smooth feeling on my lips. I have very very dry, almost constantly chapped lips and I can wear this for about 5 hours with minimal fading and zero discomfort! The color for me is a perfect my lips but better nude with just a hiiiint of pinky brown thrown in.

💥Flops💥

Elf Moisturizing Lipstick in Blackberry

image

I was so soooo excited when Elf announced they were launching new fall shades in their Moisturizing Lipstick line, I have Red Velvet and really like it. These lipstick are on the sheer side, so I was a little unsure how a sheer vampy shade would look. Unfortunately, this shade is so sheer that I can see every uneven patch on my lips underneath and despite being “moisturizing” it clings and accentuates every little dry or chapped spot on my lips. Living in Arizona this time of year, it is very dry and so there’s lots of spots and patches that this highlights, & that’s not a cute look.

That’s it for this post guys, I hope you all enjoyed and are as excited as I am to hopefully make this a regular thing! If you have any questions or have any specific requests regarding future posts I’d love to hear about it in the comments, I always reply! 🙂 I will be getting another post up this week to make up for my absence these past two weeks (again I’m sorry!).

Follow me on social media!
🐥 Twitter
📷 Instagram
📡 Bloglovin’
📌 Pinterest

xx,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

