bbloggers · beauty · eyeshadow · looks · Makeup · motd · natural · palette · tutorial

TUTORIAL: Daytime smokey eye

Hello dolls! I have been trying to get a real tutorial up on here for ages but every time I go to photograph step-by-step while doing my makeup I get halfway through and forget to photograph the rest. Oh the struggle. But finally, on my 4th attempt I am successful! So onto the tutorial:

image

For this tutorial I decided to use my Lorac Pro Palette 2, considering it’s pretty popular I figured a lot of you would own it thus being able to perfectly recreate this look. However, if you don’t own this particular palette the colors we are using are neutral and can easily be found in other palettes or at a drugstore level. The numbers above correspond to the numbers that will follow, taking you step-by-step at a glance, because I can get wordy!

image

If you’re interested in brushes used see the bottom of the post, where I’ll list brands, number, etc.

image

Step 1: Prime your eyelids! I personally use my Kat Von D eyelid primer first, let that set while I do my first brow, then pat on a thin layer of my Mac Paint Pot in Painterly. While that sets I do my second brow and set both lids with translucent powder afterwards. This is the only thing that resists creasing on my very oily eyelids!

Step 2: I decided to set a tape line because when doing a natural Smokey eye I always prefer that sharp cat eye. But it’s totally optional and would look beautiful either way! I then blended Nectar into my upper crease as a transition shade, this will help make our blending a lot easier and quicker.

Step 3: After Nectar I put Lt. Brown directly in my crease using a slightly less fluffy brush, making sure it’s really nice & blended.

Step 4: Taking my Eco Tools flat shader brush I packed Buff onto my lid. I decided to use a matte lid shade since the rest of the look in pretty shimmery I didn’t want to go overboard. But of course you can do whatever you please, get creative!

Step 5: After that is well blended I took Mocha on a flatter but still semi-fluffy brush and start defining my outer V. I didn’t worry about making it too intense, I just wanted to start forming that “V” shape before jumping into too dark colors.

Step 6: Once that outer V is a tad bit more defined, I took Cool Grey on a Sigma E25 (which is a Mac 217 dupe), and slowly built up the color in my outer corner and gently brought it into my crease a little bit, too. I want to make sure this stays in my crease, if brought up too high it could make the brow bone highlight look muddy.

Step 7: For the deepest color in this look I will be using Cocoa, taken on a smudger brush (Sigma E20) and stamped onto my verrry outer corner. After it’s placed I take a clean tapered blending brush (Sigma E45) and slowly blend out the “V” we created. If you need to add more color for depth (if too much got blended away) you can either repeat the process or just take some shadow directly on the blending brush for a smokier look.

After you’re done with the above steps just slap on your favorite eyeliner (mine is NYC black liquid eyeliner) & mascara (mine is Maybelline Lash Sensational). I, sparingly, highlighted my inner corner/tear duct area and brow bone with Beige from the same palette. I didn’t think that step was intricate enough to be worth noting!

image

image

Products used:
Face: L’Oreal infallible Pro Matte foundation, Hard Candy Glamoflauge, Rimmel Stay Matte powder, Wet N Wild contour palette in Carmel Toffee, Elf blush in Pinktastic (for highlight), and Milani Rose blush in Romantic Rose.
Eyes: Kat Von D eye primer, Mac Paint Pot in Painterly, Lorac Pro Palette 2, NYC liquid eyeliner, Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara.
Brows: Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe.
Lips: Nyx Matte Lipstick in Tea Rose.

Follow me on social media!
🐥 Twitter
📷 Instagram
📡 Bloglovin’
📌 Pinterest

2 thoughts on “TUTORIAL: Daytime smokey eye

Leave a Reply

