bbloggers · beauty · eyeshadow · La Palette Nude 1 · Makeup · palette · reviews · swatches

L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1 Review & Swatches!

Hello again folks of the beauty world!

Today I bring you a review & some nice swatches of the brand spankin’ new L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1. Many people are chattering about how this is a possible dupe for the original Urban Decay Naked palette, I’m not sure if I would go as far to call it a dupe but you’ll have to keep scrolling to find out!

The new L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1 is available at Wal-Mart, Target, and I’m assuming most other mass-market retailers that otherwise carry L’Oreal products. At Wal-Mart it ran me a whopping $15.98, expensive for drugstore level makeup, but not so much to deter me from buying number two. It contains 3 matte shades and 7 shimmer shades.

The Packaging: it’s packaged in a pretty standard folding container, made of solid black plastic. It feels lightweight but still sturdy, I would not be nervous to put this in my suitcase for travel.
image
image

It opens to a strip mirror right above that clear “window” you see above that gives you a peak at the actual shadows within. The mirror is good size, not big enough to do an entire face of makeup in, but I use it to I make mascara and/or eyeliner application easier. 9/10

Quality of Shadows: The pigmentation of these shadows is okay, it’s not mind boggling like Lorac’s but its not seriously lacking. Surprisingly, the mattes are really the stars of the show here! I was so impressed when I swatched the mattes in this palette, they are smooth and the more pigmented of the formulas. The shimmers are pretty good too, they are pretty well pigmented, and apply nicely to the lid for the most part.
image

The only shade I really had an issue with was number 10, an off-white shimmer, it gives a nice natural looking highlight under the brow bone or inner corner, but if you’re looking for a super shimmery “BAM!” shade, this isn’t it. I don’t mind though because I’m not about that disco ball life (but if you are, no judgment!). 7/10

Overall if I could go back in time and tell my past self about the quality of this palette would I still have bought it? Yes. It’s a great basic palette and I’m sure it will become a staple in a lot of middle/high school aged girls makeup bags. Its a great beginner palette, the fact that’s it’s so widely available is a huge bonus too. I would say if you have this palette I would also recommend the Sonia Kasuk Eye on Neutral Matte palette for some stellar quality mattes to supplement so many shimmery shades in this palette. I think the packaging is sturdy and classy looking. The shadows are decent quality and I have created some really nice looks using exclusively this palette. I would not say this is a Urban Decay Naked 1 dupe by any means, there aren’t any super similar shades, I think people jump to that because the overall feel of the palette shades are similar but when applied they’re not at all alike. I would certainly recommend you use a primer to amp up the pigmentation on these to get the most pop.

Overall rating: 7.8/10

Follow me on social media!
🐥 Twitter
📷 Instagram
📡 Bloglovin’
📌 Pinterest

Thanks so much for reading beauties! xx

9 thoughts on “L’Oreal La Palette Nude 1 Review & Swatches!

    1. Oh my goodness for some reason I just realized I never replied to this!:oops: I’m so sorry! I really hope you’ll take a moment and check out the post I made featuring all looks I created using exclusively this palette. Lots of love babe xx πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Great review! I love the images, especially the swatches- they are so helpful πŸ™‚ I just did my own Lush review on my new, fashion, beauty & lifestyle blog and would love if you would check it out! Kyra xx

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness I’m so sorry I’m just seeing this comment (for some reason!). I would love to go check out your blog, I’m going to as soon as I send this. Thank you so much hun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

